Whether working with others or creating on your own, you’re going to use projects in Explain Everything. A project is the fundament of any whiteboard activity, and a space where all the content you want to share or present can be placed and edited.
There are two types of projects in Explain Everything
- Local projects — created and stored by default exclusively on your device’s storage.
- Cloud projects — created, uploaded, and stored in the Explain Everything’s cloud called Explain Drive.
Both local and cloud projects are saved in the native .explain file format.
Note: Projects created with the web version of Explain Everything (in your browser) are always cloud projects.
Local projects are created and stored by default in the native Explain Everything’s apps downloaded from the App Store or Google Play. They exist only on your device and take up your device’s storage. To edit local projects, you do not need internet connection — you can work on them offline.
Tip: You can copy a local project to Explain Drive on your device so it becomes a cloud one. Similarly, whenever you create a Web Video Link of a local project, a copy of that project will be made in Explain Drive, too.
Note: Deleting the Explain Everything app from an iOS device will also delete all its data, including your local projects, so make sure to back up your projects. When deleting the app from an Android device (version 11 or higher), you’ll be asked if you’d like to keep your app data. In the older Android versions of Explain Everything, deleting the app won’t delete your data and projects. In the web version of Explain Everything, all projects are cloud ones and therefore kept in the Explain Drive so you don’t need to worry you’ll lose them.
In contrast to local projects, cloud projects are created and stored in Explain Everything’s cloud — Explain Drive — and so they can be accessed from any device.
Every cloud project has a unique CODE you can share it with. You can find it inside of the project, in the top right-hand corner (unless you disable its display in the Collaboration Settings). This is how you can also tell that the project is a cloud project. Cloud projects can also be recognized as such by the cloud icons visible on the thumbnails of projects when using the app on your device.
When working with cloud projects, you can choose to keep them for your own use or allow for access by others.
When is the cloud project created
- Whenever you start a new project with the web version of Explain Everything (in your browser).
- Every time you create a Web Video Link.
- Any time you share your project with others.
- As you move your project to Explain Drive.
Note: Cloud projects are backed up on servers so nothing is lost if you reinstall your app.